Watching List ※ Progress

Since I had a week-long vacation just a few weeks ago, I used the chance to watch a few sitting Animes on my HDD. It also gave me a chance to drop a lot of them after looking at the first thirty seconds of each series. I don’t have any particular reason for dropping Animes. Wherever I am in the series, as long as other things keeps on successfully distracting me from watching it – hindering my usual ‘marathon’ style of watching – then I will drop it. And hoping against hope I will pick them up in the future.

Hakkenden1

Aoi is way more handsome than his Original. If he’s not being a jerk, that is. Haha!
© Hakkenden

I had finished a few within that week, including:

  • No Game, No Life
  • Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso
  • Aldnoah.Zero (Seasons 1 & 2)
  • Date A Live (Season 2)
  • Hakkenden Touhou Hakken Ibun (Season 2)
  • Inu to Hasami wa Tsukaiyo
  • Mirai Nikki
  • Infinite Stratos (Season 2)
  • Amagi Brilliant Park
  • Momo e no Tegami (Movie)
  • To Love Ru Darkness (OVAs)
  • Aki-Sora + Aki-Sora: Yume no Naka

High School DxD NewYou see, I prepared about 64 to 90 Animes because I was so sure that not everything will have me focus on them completely. I have no requirement whatsoever when it comes to the plot, the drawing style, or even the voice actors. As you can see above, there’s no particular genre pattern in those titles (As I typed it, I wanted shake my head at Aki-Sora; dear me, I am forever scarred).

It surprised me that the popular ones in my [ New Folder ] did not manage to let me watch them in one-go. The pending Animes are:

  • Death Note (Finished Episode 1)
  • Ao no Exorcist (Finished Episode 2)
  • High School DxD New  (Halfway Episode 1)
  • Tokyo Ghoul (Halfway Episode 1)
  • Log Horizon (Three minutes into the anime)
  • Dansai Bunri no Crime Edge (Finished Episode 2)
  • Sabagebu (Halfway Episode 1)
Clicked random episode to get a screenshot. I didn't know this character is from Tokyo Ghoul!

Clicked random episode to get a screenshot. I didn’t know this character is from Tokyo Ghoul!

By no means did I find those above ‘ugly’ or ‘unworthy of popularity’. It’s simply coincidence. It took me six months to finish “Claymore” even though I personally think that the anime was interesting (for various reasons, I also read the Manga; Priscilla is awesome, isn’t she?).

But anyway, I’m also disappointed that I can’t finish those Animes above. Whenever I talk to my friends and mention those titles, they get quite excited that I actually show interest – but the fact that I can’t get past the first episodes is something I keep to myself. You can say that I am getting ‘motivation’ from their hyped reactions.

I must admit it’s my fault for getting distracted with anything related to Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei. I leave any Anime episode I’m currently watching if there’s any significant update about the light novels. Yes, incidentally, I’m one of the huge fans of its light novels, I don’t talk about it that often – I dedicated a Wikia for it to redirect my “spazztic moments” into something productive so I didn’t feel the need to post anything about it in WordPress. Well enough of that; the point is, it’s the reason why I usually lose my drive in watching some Animes.

Currently, I have a few Animes I’m watching in a non-marathon fashion, but still consistent (like 2 or 3 episodes per weekend day):

  • Hanayamata (Currently at Episode 11)
  • Kampfer (Currently at Episode 8)
  • Akame ga Kill (Technically, I already finished it by scanning the rest of the episodes, but you can say I’m currently at Episode 17)
  • Kamisama Hajimemashita Season 2 (Currently at Episode 7)
I've debated whether I'll use this screenshot or the other one.

I’ve debated whether I’ll use this screenshot or the other one.

In the end, I used both.

In the end, I used both.

You might have noticed already but I do not concern myself very much with on-going Animes. I find following Animes very stressful, as I did when I followed Sword Art Online and Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo. It’s ironically fortunate that my old laptop was broken during the time they aired Mahouka Anime. Otherwise I would’ve pulled my hair every week while waiting for the next episode.

As such, even though I’m a bit curious with titles I’m seeing a lot, like Danmachi (I’m not into Lolis very much but I am interested why the girl called Hestia is so popular), I still do not Google it. A large part of me also hates spoilers so yeah.

Right now, I don’t know what else I should consider watching in the future. I have more series in my folders but I base my “to watch” list on the titles. If I felt the title of the folder is boring, I wouldn’t even think of checking it out. Well, this ‘rant’ post is over. I think I’ll go continue watching Hanayamata for now. Seriously, Yosakoi (I now completely understand that trope, ‘cute girls doing cute things – e.g. nothing but moe’ or whatever).

PS: In my folder, there are a few Animes I’m considering watching next:

  • Fairy Tail (175 Episodes)
  • Sukitte in a yo (13 Episodes)
  • Ookami Shoujo to Kuro-ouji (12 Episodes)
  • Saekano (12 Episodes)
  • Gokukoku no Brynhildr (13 Episodes)
There's a lot of things in my folder but it'll probably take months before I finish them all.

There’s a lot of things in my folder but it’ll probably take months before I finish them all.
© Brynhildr

Leave a Reply

