Short Review ※ Unlimited Fafnir

I’ve been quite busy recently so I didn’t have the leisure to create separate and long posts about the Animes that I’ve watched these past few weeks. It bugged me that I was only able to tell my comments to one of my friends though, so I just have to write my thoughts (for my peace of mind). I love reading my past post about my first impression on the things I watch so I have to do this.

Anyway, the title has “Shoujo” in it, but it didn’t mean I only watched romcoms or romance drama. I also watched other genres, but most of the series I’ve seen target that demographic. Let’s start:

Beware: Spoilers Ahead

***

Juuou Mujin no Fafnir

English: Unlimited Fafnir

And here I am starting with a non-shoujo anime. I’ve been curious since I saw the title on my HDD. Yes, it’s still one of those Animes I so effortlessly copied from my officemate’s husband. The term ‘Fafnir’ is obviously not Japanese so it’s quite eye-catching.

Juuou_Mujin_no_Fafnir_-_04_(720p)_(FFF).mkv_snapshot_20.25_[2015.06.21_17.06.40] copy

Mythology was one of my strongest points (or maybe you can say it was my favorite) when I was in high school, but our classes only covered Greek and Roman Mythologies, which are quite similar with each other so I paid no heed to Norse Myths back then, thinking it was just another version of the two. So you can say I have absolutely no knowledge about it other than the corruptions made from RPG games, movie adaptations and Animes. Now that I mention it, they use Norse Mythology characters quite a lot.

Unlimited Fafnir uses it too, although I think the anime was too short to even have the chance to explain why they used Norse Mythology as basis; but I’m not one that goes on a rampage just because the series wasn’t explain well. Going to the core issue:

Story:

  • The story setting is at a modern Academy that serves as some sort of shelter for the young girls that were called “D”s. The Ds are the people that has a unique mark someone in their body – it symbolizes that they have a Dragon pair. I mean, a real dragon pair. The Ds possess powers for some reasons, due to their past encounters with the Dragons. Unfortunately, that’s a double-edged sword because being a D means that someday, their dragon pair will come for them. If unable to resist the dragon, the D will also become a dragon herself.
  • So the academy teaches the female Ds on how to use their antimatter powers in order to repel the dragons’ attempts in turning their comrades into monsters.
  • Much like how Infinite Stratos went, Mononobe Yuu entered the school as the only existing male D.
  • Most of the episodes only showed how the girls and Mononobe fight with the Dragons that tries to turn their classmates.

Characters:

  • I didn’t really check the genre online before I decide to watch it, so I had no idea it was ‘harem’. With that said, the characters comprise of one male hero and several female characters that may or may not be in love with him.
  • Mononobe Yuu, the main character is surprisingly dependable compared to the usual clumsy/idiotic heroes of other series under the same genre. I think his power, which is literally huge, is quite awesome as well.
  • The different archetypes showed themselves yet again: Imouto-type, Tsundere-type, Kuudere and Dandere types, and there’s the Klutzy type as well.
  • (Hi10)_Juuou_Mujin_no_Fafnir_-_02_(720p)_(FFF).mkv_snapshot_20.54_[2015.06.20_15.12.17] I’m uncertain whether I liked where it was going, but Mononobe Mitsuki (the imouto) seems to harbor some feelings for her brother. She’s pretty too and I think they look good together, but I felt she’ll be better of as a single character than Yuu’s leading lady. The flashbacks seem to imply that they weren’t really siblings to begin with, so the complicated forbidden love is hanging somewhere. It’s a plus that her power/weapon is named Brionac. It brings memories of one of my most favorite LN characters.
  • (Hi10)_Juuou_Mujin_no_Fafnir_-_12_(720p)_(FFF).mkv_snapshot_20.48_[2015.06.21_22.47.42]Freyja Iris, the girl who seems to be the one that raised the most flags during the entire series, is a klutz but I didn’t particular get irritated with her. She said some nice quotes by the end of the series so it overturned whatever my first impression of her was. Oh, she’s a fanservice pool, btw.

 

  • The villain, Kili Surtr Muspellzheimr, reminds me of both Homura (Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica) and Shana (Shakugan no Shana) at the same time. It’s that kind of face.
  • Tear Lightning, the girl who thought she was a dragon, had been the focus of the series for quite a few episodes but I couldn’t really say much about her. Some people might find her annoying though. Although I think she and Lisa Highwalker make a good pair (non-romantic).
  • And while the other girls were also nice, I didn’t really see any dramatic character development from them. Or I should probably say that the progress made by the others did not really leave that much impact.

Overall Thought:

I don’t think Unlimited Fafnir was bad and it did explain what’s going on with the story. It’s just that 12 episodes didn’t really match with the type of story that’s suppose to have a lot of flashbacks. It lacked the comedic atmosphere that is common on some harems though – not that it was supposed to be funny anyway. The drawing was good, even though they combined 3D effects with it. The action scenes weren’t too bad as well. So if you like stories with an overpowered main character and a bunch of female characters fighting monsters, I guess this isn’t a bad choice.

Leave a Reply

